Monday, January 01, 2018

The Ass Clown of the Year for 2017

Well, folks, Happy New Year! Today is January 1st, 2018, and in addition to being the first day of the new year, it's the date on which we announce the results of the voting for the

2017 Ass Clown of the Year

As you will recall, the voting has been underway since December 1st of last year, and the voting has been strong and steady throughout the month. And now you have spoken, and the results are:

In 5th Place, with 90 votes - The Democratic Party.

In 4th Place, with 156 votes - White House Press Secretary Sarah Huckabee Sanders.

In 3rd Place, with 263 votes - Hillary Clinton.

In 2nd Place, with 476 votes - Donald Trump.


In 1st Place, with 743 votes - the 2017 Ass Clown of the Year award goes to

The Republican Party
Its Congressional Majority

Here are a few observations I made while reviewing the balloting:

1. Although Chicago Rules applied to the voting (allowing up to ten votes at a time for any one candidate), Donald Trump received an unusually large number of single votes from many different voters.

2. I took the liberty of combining votes cast for "The Republican Party," "The GOP," and "The GOP Congressional Majority," as well as votes cast for "The Democratic Party" and "Congressional Democrats."

3. Although Hillary Clinton was our Right-Cheek winner in May of 2017, and thus was as eligible as any other candidate, it's interesting to note that - in spite of the amount of vitriol leveled against her - Ms Clinton did not occupy any position of power or authority during the year, and was thus unable to actually cause any damage, unlike all of the other finalists. Just sayin'. 

4. The smallest number of votes cast for a single named candidate was two, for Al Franken.

5. Vice President Mike Pence received 50 votes, which would have put him in 6th place.

Ladies and Gentlemen, Dear Readers, you have spoken, selecting the GOP and Its Congressional Majority as the 2017 Ass Clown of the Year. And if I may be allowed a final editorial comment*, they're already in a strong position for the 2018 award.

Have a good day and a Happy, Healthy, Safe, and Sane New Year!

More thoughts coming.


* Of course I may ... it's my blog!


allenwoodhaven said...

The people have spoken. And you listened. Thanks for your public service, Bilbo. Happy New Year!

Mike said...

YEA! 1st and 2nd place! All those votes I spread around paid off. Now, how do we vote them out?

eViL pOp TaRt said...

2017 was a sordid year for politics. Sad.